Select Page

 

The Bishop and the Bishop’s Staff ~ Diocesan Contacts



Alphabetical Listing. For listings by offices please see links to the left of the page (on desktop) or in main menu (on mobile devices).

Ms. Karin Almquist

Accounting Manager

Office: 212-316-7534

kalmquist@dioceseny.org

Assists in developing and implementing systems for collecting, analyzing, verifying, and reporting financial information.

The Rev. Yamily Bass-Choate

Liaison for Global Mission

Office: 212-316-7432; Fax: 212-932-7345

ybass-choate@dioceseny.org

The Rev. Yamily Bass-Choate The Rev. Yamily Bass-Choate assists the bishops in oversight of the diocese’s global mission connections and relationships. She also works with local communities of the diocese to foster and develop their ministry partnerships at home and abroad.

Mr. Patrick Bergquist

Director of Programs, Episcopal Charities

Office: 212-316-7426; Fax: 212-316-7431

pbergquist@dioceseny.org

Patrick is responsible for oversight of all grant-making and program assistance activities including grants management, program development, and program relations. He also oversees Episcopal Charities’ social media, web site, and electronic communications.

The Rev. Dr. Eugene Bourquin, Deacon

Pastoral Missioner to the Deaf

Office: 646-832-6003

gbourquin@dioceseny.org

Ms. Arlene Bullard

Bishop Dietsche’s Assistant for Special Projects & Assistant to the Canon to the Ordinary

Office: 212-932-7363; Fax: 212-932-7318

abullard@dioceseny.org

Arlene Bullard manages the diocesan database and bishops’ visitation schedule; provides support to the clergy spouse/partner group and Anti-racism Committee; coordinates training for Licensed Eucharistic Visitors.

Ms. Charmagne Castillo

Staff Accountant

Office: 212-316-7435; Fax: 212-932-7328

ccastillo@dioceseny.org

Charmagne Castillo provides support in carrying out the responsibilities of the Finance office, most particularly with regard to accounts payable and cash receipts.

Ms. Michelle Chang

Executive Assistant to the Bishop Suffragan and the Assistant Bishop

Office: 212-316-7484; Fax: 212-316-7405

mchang@dioceseny.org

Michelle Chang provides a wide range of administrative and coordinating support for Bishops Shin and Glasspool, including organizing meetings, appointments and engagements and acting as the main contact person for the Bishop Suffragan’s and Assistant Bishop’s offices.

Safe Church Info
Ms. Emily Collie-Beard

Volunteer Coordinator, Episcopal Charities

ecolliebeard@dioceseny.org

The Rev. Canon Victor Conrado

Canon for Congregational Vitality and Formation

Office: 212-316-7433

vconrado@dioceseny.org

Ms. Audrey Cousin

Junior Accountant

Office: 212-316-7479; Fax: 212-932-7328

acousin@dioceseny.org

Assists with general accounting and administrative functions, including interacting with congregations regarding parochial reports and assessment inquiries.

Ms. Mildney (Mai) Dal

Senior Accountant

Office: 212-316-7434; Fax: 212-932-7328

mdal@dioceseny.org

MIldney Dal ensures the integrity of accounting information by recording, verifying, consolidating, and entering transactions as well as assisting in reporting financial information.

The Rt. Rev. Andrew ML Dietsche

Bishop of New York

Office: 212-316-7413; Fax: 212-932-7318

bpdietsche@dioceseny.org

Bishop Dietsche was consecrated a bishop in March, 2012, and was installed as the 16th Bishop of New York on February 2, 2013 at the Cathedral of St. John the Divine. For more about Bishop Dietsche, please click here.”

Ms. Judith Douglas

Executive Director, NYSJC

Office: 646-628-0283

jdouglas@dioceseny.org

Judith Douglas provides leadership and responsibility for the operations of the Episcopal Service Corps NY (d/b/a New York Service and Justice Collaborative) Includes oversight of the administration, development, communications, marketing, formation of the nonprofit, as well as supporting board activities and relations.

Ms. Allison Epstein

Controller

Office: 212-316-7451

aepstein@dioceseny.org

Ms. Gloria Fitzgerald

Director of Office Services

Office: 212-316-7422; Fax: 212-316-7405

gfitzgerald@dioceseny.org

Gloria Fitzgerald oversees office services and administration including phone and mail services for the entire Cathedral Close, Diocesan House reception, conference room calendars, meeting catering, and management of special diocesan events.

Mr. Andrew Gary

Assistant to the Chief of Finance and Operations, Communications & Editorial Assistant, Safeguarding Online Manager

Office: 212-932-7322; Fax: 212-932-7323

agary@dioceseny.org

Andrew Gary assists the Chief of Finance and Operations and the Director of Communications. He also manages Safeguarding Online, the newly-implemented web-based sexual misconduct awareness and prevention training program, for the Transition Ministry Office.

The Rt. Rev. Mary D. Glasspool

Bishop Assistant

Office: 212-316-7442

bpglasspool@dioceseny.org

Mr. José Henao

Mailroom

Office: 212-316-7417; Fax: 212-316-7405

jhenao@dioceseny.org

José Henao receives, sorts and distributes incoming mail for the entire Cathedral Close, and processes outgoing mail for the cathedral and diocesan offices. He also assists with meeting set-up and other Office Services responsibilities.

Ms. Esslie Hughes

Chief of Finance and Operations

Office: 212-316-7409; Fax: 212-316-7481

ehughes@dioceseny.org

Esslie Hughes oversees all financial and administrative operations, providing support to the Diocesan Trustees and Trustee committees, including the Adjustment Board. She also serves as a resource on all related matters to congregations in the diocese.

Ms. Michele Kearney

Executive Director, DIT

Office: 212-932-7312; Fax: 212-316-7405

mkearney@dioceseny.org

Michele Kearney administers day-to-day the trusts, investment vehicles, and programs of the Trustees of the Estate and Property of the Diocesan Convention, including the DIT Fund.

Mr. Wayne Kempton

Archivist & Historiographer

Office: 212-316-7419; Fax: 212-316-7405

archives@dioceseny.org

As archivist

The Rev. Ryan Kuratko

Campus and Young Adult Missioner for Northern New York City

Office: 914-575-2518

chaplain.ryan@canterburynyc.org

The Rev. Deacon Denise J. LaVetty

Director of Deacon Formation and Transition

dlavetty@dioceseny.org

Ms. Melissa Lopez-Sanchez

Executive Assistant to Bishop Dietsche

Office: 212-316-7413; Fax: 212-932-7318

mlopez-sanchez@dioceseny.org

Melissa Lopez-Sanchez provides administrative and coordinating support to Bishop Dietsche, including organizing meetings, appointments and engagements and acting as the main contact person for the Bishop’s office.

Ms. Sharon Luke

Global Women’s Fund Liaison, Receptionist

Office: 212-932-7326

sluke@dioceseny.org

Ms. Zoraida Marte

Payroll Manager

Office: 212-316-7478; Fax: 212-932-7328

zmarte@dioceseny.org

Zoraida Marte handles all payroll matters

Mr. Alito Orsini

Liaison to Canon for Ministry, Liaison to Canon for Transition Ministry

Office: 212-316-7414; Fax: 212-932-7368

aorsini@dioceseny.org

Alito Orsini connects people to the services of both Transition and Ministry offices

The Rev. Canon John D. Perris

Canon to the Ordinary

Office: 212.316.7415; Fax: 212 932 7318

jdperris@dioceseny.org

The Rev. Canon K. Jeanne Person

Canon for Pastoral Care

Office: 212-932-7355; Fax: 212-932-7368

jperson@dioceseny.org

Canon Person provides pastoral ministry to clergy and their families, including counseling, pastoral liturgies, and referrals for outside counseling. She also assists in planning parish visitations and other episcopal ministries within parish settings.”

Mr. Nicholas Richardson

Director of Communications, Editor, Episcopal New Yorker

Office: 212-316-7520; Fax: 212-932-7323

nrichardson@dioceseny.org

Nick Richardson is responsible for all diocesan communications, public relations (including advice on parish issues), editing and writing for the Episcopal New Yorker

Ms. Sara Saavedra

Convention Officer, Assistant Secretary of Convention, Diocesan Benefits Coordinator, Secretary to the Standing Committee

Office: 212-316-7423; Fax: 212-316-7420

ssaavedra@dioceseny.org

Sara Saavedra is responsible for the Annual Diocesan Convention

The Rev. Megan E. Sanders

Chaplain, Canterbury Downtown

Office: 917-838-9938

chaplain@canterburynyc.org

The Rev. Megan E. Sanders Is Episcopal chaplain to students in lower Manhattan through Canterbury Downtown; coordinates the Young Adult Network, and provides support for 20s/30s outreach ministries in congregations around the city.

Ms. Mary Beth Sasso

Executive Director, Episcopal Charities

Office: 212-316-7403; Fax: 212-316-7431

mbsasso@dioceseny.org

Mary Beth Sasso provides staff leadership and responsibility for day-to-day operations of Episcopal Charities. Includes oversight of the administration

The Rt. Rev. Allen K. Shin

Bishop Suffragan

Office: 212-316-7465; Fax: 212-316-7405

bpshin@dioceseny.org

The Rev. Canon Charles W. Simmons

Canon for Ministry

Office: 212-316-7416; Fax: 212-932-7368

csimmons@dioceseny.org

Canon Simmons assists the Bishop in the oversight of the process leading to ordination

Ms. Chontel Simmons

Director of Human Resources

Office: 212.316.7503

clsimmons@dioceseny.org

Oversees all human resources functions for the diocesan staff and provides human resources advice and support to the diocese’s congregations.

Mr. Geoff Smith

Director of Technology

Office: 212.316.7440

gsmith@dioceseny.org

The Rev. Canon Nora Smith

Canon for Transition Ministry, Intake Officer

Office: 212-316-7421; Cell: 917-319-3959

nsmith@dioceseny.org

Works with the parishes in the “in-between time” when the current priest leaves and they begin to discern and search for the next one; also responsible for licensure and transfer of clergy and supply clergy.

Ms. Elaine Song

Program Manager, NYSJC

Office: 646-939-5062

esong@dioceseny.org

Ms. Elizabeth Starling

Director of Development, Episcopal Charities

Office: 212-932-7376; Fax: 212-316-7431

estarling@dioceseny.org

Ms. Val Stelcen

Executive Assistant to the Bishop for the Mid-Hudson

Office: 845-338-1086; Fax: 845-338-1154

vstelcen@dioceseny.org

Val Stelcen provides pastoral and diocesan support to parishes and an open line of com munication to the Bishop; acts as Mid- Hudson regional liaison to the Bishop and the Bishop’s staff; and manages various Mid-Hudson committees and programs.

Mr. Egbert Stolk

Director of Diocesan Property Services

Office: 212-316-7428

estolk@dioceseny.org

Ms. Amalia Vavala

Administrative Assistant, Episcopal Charities

Office: 212-316-7575

avavala@dioceseny.org